Play with the Pieces

Greetings from lovely Portland, Oregon! Michelle Freedman aka Designcamppdx here. Thanks to Krystina from KMquilts for inviting me to be a guest blogger on the new Nubee Blog. When she put out a call for posts I knew right away I wanted to blog about the process of making my block for this month’s swap. I thought I knew exactly what I wanted to do; I had seen a quilt at the Sister’s Outdoor Quilt Show in July and was saving the idea for my next 12 1/2″ block swap. I cut out all my pieces to make my sample block, laid them out on my design board and then paused and wondered, but what if…

I think it is so interesting how many variations are possible within a single design. When I see a block or a quilt I like I often find myself wondering how the final layout was determined. Did the person who made it draw it out first or did they just go for it? I use a combination of both techniques when I design quilt blocks, but sometimes I simply like to play with the pieces. For my block this month that is exactly what I ended up doing. I made 16 HSTs (half square triangles) and laid them out to match a photo of the block I had photographed in Sisters. The HSTs were made using pairs of 4″ squares.

I loved the way it looked, but I wanted to see what other patterns I could make. I shifted the pinwheel in the center to a solid white square, and then I did the reverse. I couldn’t decide which one I liked better, so I decided to push the idea even further.

The possibilities were endless! Each time I rearranged the block I liked it even more! How was I ever going to decide which one to make? There were so many great choices…

For fun, I went onto flickr and looked at what other folks had done with the same 16 HSTs in previous swaps. I noticed a few people had done the pinwheel design and their blocks looked fantastic. I thought I’d use one of my variations just to put something a little different out there. This is the one I finally chose. I sure hope my hive-mates approve!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 14 other followers

